Season Recap: Show 5

It was the best of times, and it was the worst of times. I had my best round yet, and my worst rounds yet. To sum it all up, we had hit our next major learning curve. 


11221588_800685516718272_8421615581046229006_n
Going by the original show schedule had we not had 2 show cancellations, this show would have marked the half way point through the 2015 season. It was the first and only show on this circuit where the rings were on grass at the lovely London Hunt and Country Club. Both of the show rings were a good size with minimal changes in elevation, and besides one scary cross country jump on the size of the ring, there was not a lot for the horses to spook at.

Gracie started the week off with another great hack division with good prizes. Next she had some competitive rounds with Coach in the hunter development, and even got some great lead changes in.

On to day two, the rest of the Sunday team were away or had chosen to skip this show. Since my division started first in the morning, we had expected to be done and out of there in no time. Wrong. This show being on grass, the horses were moving out more than usual and not surprisingly pulling shoes. Gracie and Riley managed to avoid a trip to the farrier’s booth (riley doesn’t wear shoes, and Gracie has 4) but that didn’t stop everyone else from losing a shoe right before the last group of horses were jumping, or right before the hack class.. So we were there a little longer than we had anticipated.

11666101_800682880051869_8108406384425313329_n

First up in the Modified Child/Adults was Riley. We had decided to finish the last half of the season in this division as he had an easier chance of qualifying or getting a ribbon here than in the open division he started in last show. These jumps were only a bit higher at 2’9, which I regret looking back on the season now. Riley does not have the same natural jumping abilities as Gracie does, and while I know he still loves to jump, he would have done better this year if I had kept him at the 2’6 height. This was my best show with him, probably because he wanted to move out more on the grass, allowing him to carry himself better and not be as launchy over the 2’9 jumps. These were all things we would be working on this winter. I had some great trips for the point I was at with this horse, we did make the lines easily, and I was able to keep him straight through the lines meaning we landed most of our leads, but not all.

11701199_800686386718185_6639201130534765519_nThis horse wants to be balanced and get lead changes, but another thing we will be working on this winter is getting him to move over off my leg without accelerating forward and to finish the lead changes without kicking out. He hacked great with me for the hack class, and we got a 2nd.

11219219_800685563384934_3665907678631263905_n

On to Gracie. My warm up trips and my first 2 rounds were less than stellar. Gracie was extremely quiet today, which I was not used to. While she was being lovely and soft (and extremely patient) I was not holding my leg on during that last step to the jump and following through with the distance that was right there in front of us EVERY time. For some reason I just wasn’t trusting my judgment with her today and felt she was behind my leg, therefor I was reluctant to make that final bid to the distances I was seeing, and still felt that we weren’t going to get there. After a pep talk from Coach after every trip, I finally went in for my last round of the division with the attitude that I had to go for it. And we did.

Although it was a bummer about the lead changes, we still had accomplished so much in this round – mentally and visually – that this was still one of my proudest and most memorable trips of the season.

11694970_10155807488060284_8314641628126834194_n

I chose to hack Riley at this show, so Gracie was hacked by the head groom and got a good hack prize too (Riley was stunning on the grass and we beat her in the hack). So after the good, the bad, and the ugly, it rounded up to be a great learning experience for me in the show ring, and for laughing it off out of the ring.

One thought on “Season Recap: Show 5

Leave a Reply

